Day 8 Travel Diary: The V&A

Standard

On our last day in London, we dedicated that day to simply chilling. I was very sad to be leaving such a beautiful and historical city. For this reason, I wanted to soak in the rich history and beautiful architecture one last time.

While most people stayed in the hotel, Aniyah, Mr. B, and I all went to the Victoria and Albert Museum. The V&A Museum was similar to the British Museum in that it was separated into different countries and time periods, however, what I enjoyed about this museum was the focus on different mediums of art, from rooms dedicated to silver to one all about costuming in theater.

I spent a good 20 minutes in the jewelry room alone. The room was entrancing; I had never seen so much beautiful jewelry in one place. There was so much history in each piece, and no two pieces of jewelry looked the same.

I also spent a while sitting in a gorgeous courtyard in the center of the museum, complete with trees, beautiful architecture, and a large shallow pool of water. I sat for a while, soaking in the sounds of water rushing while dipping my fingers in the water.

Besides eating at the restaurant in the hotel, I spent the rest of the day packing and hanging out in my hotel room with my roommate. It was a nice way to wind down after a long trip to a foreign country. 

Leave a Reply

