Day 4 Travel Diary: If Crepes Be the Food of Love…

Standard

I woke up for the second time in Stratford, and it was a bit rainy. However, this didn’t even last until we got off the coach at the church William Shakespeare is buried at.

It was really amazing to see where Shakespeare was buried. Until then, I’d of course seen plenty of his work, but I hadn’t seen concrete evidence that he was a person on this planet. Of course, I’d known that he existed, but seeing his grave and baptism records really put things in perspective. The continuation of our “Shakespeare’s Birthplace” tour included Anne Hathaway’s cottage and his actual birthplace. Anne Hathaway’s cottage was absolutely beautiful and had some gorgeous gardens. It was also incredible to see the place that Shakespeare’s wife lived, a house that stayed in the family for a very long time. I had a similar experience in Shakespeare’s birthplace.

After going on the birthplace tour, we dispersed to find something to eat for lunch. There I went with Ben, Aniyah, and Kimmy to a small restaurant called “The Food of Love.” There I had a fresh strawberry crepe with ice cream.

We were going to go to a different smaller town but there was an issue with the bus so instead, we came back to the hotel where I slept for longer than I thought I would before going to dinner.

We ate at a pub near our hotel. The food was good, unlike how I expected when coming to England. I had always heard that English cuisine was awful, however, the classic pub food I had was quite tasty.

After dinner, we went to see Antony and Cleopatra. Every one of us was going into the show blind, so no one knew what to expect. I didn’t enjoy the show as much as I had hoped I would, but I think the reason behind this was that I didn’t know what was going on most of the time, likely due to never having read the play before. However, I think if I were to see, say, Twelfth Night without having read it before, I would have understood it more than I understood Antony and Cleopatra.

Day 4 travel.jpg

It was surprising to actually see Shakespeare’s grave in person. I had always thought of him, in a way, as this sort of mythical man from hundreds of years ago who wrote a bunch of amazing plays. However, seeing his grave not only made him seem more real, but also showed me that he was a person too, just like anyone else.

 

day 4 travel 2.jpg

The gardens at Anne Hathaway’s cottage were absolutely gorgeous. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

